Community Development

Joint Growth Management Steering Committee and Countywide Planning Policy (JGMSC and CPP)

Issue Links     BY TOPIC
Countywide Planning Policy (CPP)
Comprehensive Plan
Unified Development Code (UDC)
Permit Information & Application Forms
Permit Database Search & Map Tools

  621 Sheridan Street
Port Townsend,
WA 98368

  Phone: 360.379.4450
Fax: 360.379.4451


Monday - Thursday
9:00 to 4:30                     

closed 12:00 - 1:00 for lunch

Fridays, Weekends & Holidays Closed


Click on the items below to skip to that section:

Page created:  10/20/2010  Last Updated: 10/9/2015




NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the Jefferson County Joint Growth Management Steering Committee will hold a joint workshop with the City of Port Townsend on October 16, 2015 beginning at 1:00 pm at the City of Port Townsend Pope Marine Building, located 100 Madison St., Port Townsend. JGMSC members will consider the following items: 1) Population Projects for the Growth Management Act update. 

For further information please contact the Dept. of Community Development, 621 Sheridan Street, Port Townsend, WA  98368, (360) 379-4450 or

JGMSC Agenda

Joint Growth Management Steering Committee (JGMSC)

The Joint Growth Management Steering Committee (JGMSC) is a forum for discussion among elected officials and the public about implementation of the state Growth Management Act (GMA) in Jefferson County, including any amendments to the Countywide Planning Policy (CPP). 

The JGMSC is composed of representatives from the Board of County Commissioners, City of Port Townsend City Council, the Port of Port Townsend Port Commission, and the Irondale/Port Hadlock Urban Growth Area (UGA).  The committee was idle for a number of years from 2006 - 2009.  However, in view of the upcoming Comprehensive Plan updates required by the state for both the County and the City, the JGMSC is being reactivated. 

While originally established in 1992 as the 'Growth Management Committee', the name has shifted over time to 'Growth  Management Steering Committee' in 1994, and most recently 'Joint Growth Management Steering Committee' in 1999.  The names refer to the same group, and the terms may be used interchangeably, with the latter version currently preferred.

JGMSC Membership

Current representatives include:

Board of County Commissioners

  • Phil Johnson
  • David Sullivan
  • Kathleen Klerr

Irondale/Port Hadlock UGA

  • Chuck Russell

Port Commission

  • Steve Tucker

Port Townsend City Council

  • Michelle Sandoval
  • David King
  • Deborah Stinson

JGMSC Meeting Agendas, Materials & Minutes

October 28
January 14
April 19
January 26
September 21
June 15

Countywide Planning Policy (CPP)

The Countywide Planning Policy (CPP)
(3.22 MB) was adopted in 1992 by the City of Port Townsend and Jefferson County to provide an overall direction for the development of individual GMA comprehensive plans. The CPP - which was developed through a collaborative process (the Growth Management Steering Committee) between the City and County, public service providers, utilities, special purpose districts and community organizations - set out 10 policies related to issues such as urban growth areas, essential public facilities, transportation, affordable housing, economic development, rural areas, and fiscal impact analysis.

In 1994, Policy 6.1 was changed to comply with the Washington Housing Policy Act of 1993 definition of "affordable housing" which states, residential housing that is rented or owned by a person or household whose monthly housing costs, including utilities other than telephone, do not exceed thirty percent (30%) of the household's monthly income.  (This changed the planning policy's previous figure of 36%.)

This change was enacted jointly by County Resolution No. 112-94 and City Resolution No. 94-128

The CPP was targeted for an update in 2005.  The Growth Management Steering Committee reviewed a preliminary proposal to amend the CPP at its meeting April 19, 2005.  Action was postponed indefinitely.



Return to the Long Range Planning page.

Return to the Department of Community Development page.


Best viewed with Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0 or later
Windows - Mac